An afternoon cup

While this is a little off topic I do believe the attention given to this device as well as the culture around the perfection of the product can and does constitute an artistic endeavor. What am I talking about? Coffee!

My friend Mark, who has commented here a few times, has introduced me to a NY times article on the newest machines designed for coffee brewing. The article outlines two new approaches to coffee brewing, the first and more expensive one ($20,000) hails from Japan and is called Siphon brewing while the second and less expansive option ($11,000) was designed here in the states and is called Clover.

This video taken from youtube demonstrates how Clover works:

Described in the video is the brewing process and we are informed about the specificity this machine can get to when dealing with a cup to cup process. The article adds in addition to this that the machine has the ability to go online and catalog specific orders and styles for different beans and roasts.The second machine uses a much more involved process and appears to be much more complicated to master.

First for anyone who fins this post I must ask if you have tried either of these machines and what is this experience like?

But more importantly and what allows me to place it in the category of artistic discussion is that I am one to believe and argue that there is an art to this. An art that is extremely temporary and fleeting yet requires an intense amount of patience to master. A film that best describes this sensational euphoria achieved with good culinary work would be Ratatouille. The scenes and visuals used when Remy, the main rat chief character, describes eating are so perfect. Anyway as you all know I love looking at the art in things that aren’t necessarily artistic and so have arrived here.

What I see here is a process for preparing a beverage that is widely enjoyed here and abroad taken to the level of expression. These devices allow the berristas to really find their special brew, their expression of coffee.

Hail to the cup as I go get another and dive back into the thesis.

Huysmans

3 Responses to An afternoon cup

  1. JD says:

    I think my coffee maker cost $10. Maybe $15. It’s nice looking and novel (and I’m all into that sort of thing) but I’d rather spend $20,000 on the perfect bean than on the machine that brews it. That said, I do own an espresso machine.

  2. huysmans says:

    At the heart of all this financial leadership, or wastefulness, is a desire to elevate coffee to the intellectual level of espresso, an endeavor I am very much in favor of. For me the coffee experience is more important than the driving experience, thus as one would contribute $20,000 to his car, I would to my coffee. But I would need the assurances that this huge monetary increase will have positive and noticeable effects. We can all tell the differences between car models that are valued in the 1000s versus those in the 10s of 1000s. If that is true with this coffee machine, I’d have to say that I would consider it.

    But then again, knowing that it would take at least a year to learn how to operate it, probably not, I’m still trying to get a French Press.

  3. […] with the Clover Machine. Back before this blog existed I wrote a post for the now deceased Literature’s Next Frontier that responded to a New York Times article detailing the Clover Machine and one other from Japan […]

Leave a Reply

