We’ve got blog

I am finally back from vacation and have finished the collection of essays titled We’ve got blog: how weblogs are changing our culture. It was a very interesting collection, very diverse, and will be very helpful in understanding more of the specifics in regards to the history of the blog. However the funny thing about anything in print in regards to this topic is that it becomes immediately dated. All the essays in here are from the late 90s through 2002, which makes sense since the book was published in 03 and for a book that’s recent. But still in regards to the “A-List” blogs they talk about in the book, well many don’t update anymore.

 

But the important part is that it gave me some good perspective on the blog’s development. It’s interesting to me, but yet not surprising, that it started as a filter, as a collection of interesting links within the internet, one could say that that purpose is still around today, in fact most probably would, if not through the posts and tags then through the blogroll, but the blogroll isn’t updated regularly like the original weblogs were. I know from the book that the debate on which is a real blog still exists, or at least it did then.

 

Something I find rather interesting about this collection of essays is that there is no discussion of art in the blogs, these writers don’t identify as authors, many as journalists and probably a few as strictly writers or bloggers, but what is interesting is that they don’t see their work as art.

 

Something that I have been toying with is the idea that the public journal aspect of a blog, the type of blog that has become the most popular form of blogging today is in fact a genre of literature, a theme for writing if you will. I believe that it is a hybrid of an autobiography with the essences of a collaborative work such as the Surrealists would do. I know or rather can imagine that there are bloggers out there that honestly write what really does happen to them in that given post but they are still adding opinion, interpretation, hopefully artistic exaggeration, and lets not forget style and format, all of which are artistic and literary themes so therefore I would almost venture to say that these blogs if they were to be found in say a Barnes & Nobel they would be found under the section of Blog Journal, which would be next to Magical Realism and Autobiographies.

 

Just my thoughts and I know it’s a week late but.

 

HAPPY NEW YEAR and good luck in ‘08

 

Huysmans

4 Responses to We’ve got blog

  1. Hi there,
    I am building a blog on Indonesian literature. May I link to your blog ?
    Regard
    Bambang Udoyono

  2. huysmans says:

    of course, and I’ll do the same, let me know when you finish it.

    Huysmans

  3. John B. says:

    First of all, thanks for de-lurking over at my humble blog–and for revealing that you selected my blog as one of your RSS feeds.

    I found this post’s last paragraph intriguing. From time to time I’ve also given some thought to why reading (certain) blogs is so engrossing–I seem to recall that somewhere I’ve posted on that subject, but I can’t find it. Anyway, as I read your paragraph, I found myself thinking that it’s a fusion of open-ended memoir and interactive performance art.

    That is, it is for most blogs. But some time ago I came across a blog that I recently learned was written in the voice of a fictional character who is the protagonist of a just-published novel. Here is the link to that blog, in case you’re interested:
    http://f-i-n.diaryland.com/
    Good luck with your project. I’m proud to know I’m a small part of it.

  4. huysmans says:

    That’s very interesting, ill check it out and thanks.

Leave a Reply

